Momfession #36: Bad mommy

bad momI was talking to a fellow mommy the other day and she momfessed that she had been less-than-perfect when it came to her kids’ preventative dental care, and apart from feeling guilty, she was also feeling embarrassed about being a “bad” mommy. It got me thinking about all of the things that I haven’t done, or have done particularly poorly, that I am embarrassed to admit to other parents. So, in the Momfessional spirit and to salute all of the imperfect mom’s out there, I thought I’d let you in on a few…

Teeth cleaning. My seven-year-old only brushes his teeth once a day (at night). While I know full well that he should be brushing in the mornings too, I just can’t get myself organized enough at 7am to monitor his dental care. And to be honest, I try to make the start of the day as non-confrontational as possible, so fighting about tooth-brushing is pretty low on my morning wish list. As for my toddler, I sporadically brush her teeth at night, but I know I don’t do a great job (especially since while I am doing it she is screaming at the top of her lungs and most times I have to pin her down to do it). However, I tell my dentist we are model tooth-brushers and flossers, because really, who wants to be lectured about something you already know you’re doing poorly?

Potty training. My toddler is not even close to being potty trained, and I couldn’t care less. In fact, I prefer her wearing diapers to having to worry every time we go out that she is going to have an accident. We have decided to put her into preschool this September and I am fully expecting them to take the reins on the potty training. I mean, that’s what I pay them for, right? Let her pee on their floors.

Ice skating. My son is seven-years-old and he can’t ice skate. We have taken him a total of three times which lasted all of 10 minutes each before he just decided to sit in a snow bank and eat snow. By the time I was seven, I had been ice skating for more than half of my life. And I had an ice rink in my backyard. We are terrible, terrible Canadian parents (although the no-backyard-ice-rink thing I am blaming entirely on global warming).

Shoelaces. It might be a good thing that my son doesn’t ice skate because he also cannot tie his shoes. I am not going to take all of the blame on this one, though. Every September, I get the note from school that requires me to send indoor shoes with no laces. When is my kid going to learn how to tie his shoes if he is always wearing Velcro? Yes, I am fully aware that I could teach him on my own, and I have attempted it a few times, but the whining and fit-throwing got the best of me. They make Velcro shoes for grown-ups though, right?

Believe me, there are many, many more. But I want to hear from you. What are some parenting tasks that you don’t do (even though you’re “supposed” to)? Don’t feel guilty or embarrassed any longer…we all have these little secrets! Let it out!

Author: momfessional

Just an unperfect mom in an unperfect world. What`s YOUR momfession? http://themomfessional.com/

10 thoughts on “Momfession #36: Bad mommy”

  1. I fail on the right servings of fruits and veggies!! Along with everything you listed above (minus the ice skating).

  2. When it comes to my toddler – same with the teeth. And same with the veggies. Oh, and my child never eats meat. Also? With my baby, I drink caffeine and wine while breastfeeding. I let my toddler watch TV in the morning AND at the end of the day. And my 7 month old sometimes “watches” TV with her sister, too. The list could go on and on and on… Mommy FAIL!

  3. Having raised two daughters primarily on my own since they were 4 and 7, I have a laundry list of “bad mommy” behaviour and now that they are young adults, I’m sure they can add to the list. However, I am a firm believer that unless you have walked a mile in my shoes, don’t judge me. When I was raising my kids we didn’t have facebook or any other social media to discuss or air our secrets and at times, I felt I was the only “bad parent”. Truth be told, although there are many, many books on child-rearing, there are no hard and fast rules on what will work or not work. So ladies, just do the best you can and love them with all your hearts. After all, we turned out okay.

Leave a Reply

