Momfession #14: Google parenting

 

Here are some of my recent Google searches…

“how to deal with the terrible twos”

“toddler only cranky at home”

“toddler won’t eat”

“6-year-old behaviour issues”

“calories in pumpkin seeds”

Yeah, I am a Google parent (and obviously also semi-concerned about what I am eating as I search for parenting advice online). When I was pregnant, I signed up for a group on babycenter.com and shared every ache, craving, and detail of my birth plan with all 200 members of “Natural Birthing Moms December 2009”. I lived miles away from these women and never met any of them face to face, but I took comfort that we were all going through the same thing. After I had my daughter, I sought advice anywhere I could get it…from my family, friends, random moms on the playground, and yes…Google. I can’t imagine what it would have been like to be a new mom and not be a finger tap away from mommy blogs, the latest research articles, parenting discussion groups, and “100 ways to entertain your seven-month-old”. Yes, some say we live in a world where we are overloaded with too much information. And it is true that I often have to wade through a lot of really ridiculous advice before I get to the good stuff (you would be surprised how many people seriously recommend giving a baby alcohol to make it stop crying/sleep). But I honestly wouldn’t have it any other way. Google is awake at 3am when I am listening to my daughter cough and wondering if there are any natural remedies that will soothe her. Google quickly finds recipes that allow me to hide vegetables in otherwise kid-friendly food. And Google doesn’t judge me when I search for “saggy breasts after breastfeeding” or “sex drive after childbirth”.

OK so I guess it isn’t all about the kids. Sometimes, I need a little reassurance about myself, too.

Author: momfessional

Just an unperfect mom in an unperfect world. What`s YOUR momfession? http://themomfessional.com/

3 thoughts on “Momfession #14: Google parenting”

  1. I Googled when D was a baby. A lot. Only so I could find one blog, website, quote, whatever, to back up what I was thinking. It didn’t matter if 20 other sites said the complete opposite. Ah Google…I love thee to this day fo so many other reasons other than my child.

Leave a Reply

