Momfession #6: TV (*gasp!*)

This momfession comes from mommy friend and blogger Heather. She says it really well so here we go:

I let Anna watch TV. In fact, sometimes I put the Wiggles on just to get a break for a moment. Honestly – the days are LONG when it’s just me and Anna and she wants to be entertained ALL. THE. TIME. 
After doing almost everything I can think of (and I’m so not a wonderful, perfect, crafty Mom who can create all the most amazing sensory play ideas in the world for her), I just don’t want to sit in the car for an hour while she plays with the steering wheel and mirrors – AGAIN. Sometimes, I’m too hot or tired to play at the park for another hour. Sometimes I don’t want to fight with her. So when she begs to watch TV… I let her.
Sigh. I wish I was perfect. But I ain’t. So my 19 month old watches TV.
I concur, Hez. My kids watch TV and let me tell you…it’s not all educational (as much as I try to convince myself that my son can learn the difference between right and wrong by watching Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles he is probably just learning the proper way to wield nunchuks or throw one of those ninja star thingys). After her nap, my 21-month-old daughter runs around the house shouting “SpongeBob!” or “Swiper no swipe!” until I turn on the TV (at which point, she demands a bowl of goldfish because really, who wants to watch TV without a snack?).
So yep, I too let my kids watch TV. But how else am I supposed to distract them while I am making brinner?
Kailyn and Gabriel spending some quality time with the TV
Author: momfessional

Just an unperfect mom in an unperfect world. What`s YOUR momfession? http://themomfessional.com/

Leave a Reply

