Momfession #4: Nighttime hellos

Some nights, I wake up my kids just so I can say “hi”. Most of the time, it starts off innocently enough: I will go in my toddler’s room to check on her, and see her move slightly when she hears me come in. Then, I straighten her blanket and she changes positions again…this time with a little smile on her face. At that point, I just HAVE to yank that teddy bear out from under her head (what if she gets a neck cramp?) and not so quietly rearrange the pants in her dresser. And then, “Oh- Kailyn…you’re awake? Shhh go back to sleep baby…mommy loves you.” She usually smiles and says “Hi Mommy” before drifting back to sleep. My son, on the other hand, sleeps like a rock. But if I do manage to wake him up, he always greets me with a smile and an “I love you.” I know I shouldn’t do it, but those sleepy moments are just so precious. I can’t help it!

Kailyn and Gabriel trying to get some sleep
Author: momfessional

Just an unperfect mom in an unperfect world. What`s YOUR momfession? http://themomfessional.com/

4 thoughts on “Momfession #4: Nighttime hellos”

  1. Okay. This is totally a confession of a Mom with children who sleep. You would NEVER, EVER find me waking Anna up after she goes to sleep. I’m still longing for the day she will sleep through the night (and the kid is 19 months old). It’s been a long 19 months. 🙂

  2. I have a momfession to make…sometimes I try to buy my daugher’s love with a gift or junk food. Why should the grandparents have all the fun? Instead of the constant nagging, begging, and persuading to eat healthy…I take my daughter to Dunkin’ Donuts. I make sure to let her know that it was my idea alone, so she’ll know how awesome I am. Her reaction: Taking my face in her hands and saying “Mommy, I just Iove you SOOOOOO much. I want to be with you every day.” Yup. Junk food=adoration!

    1. I LOVE this! I do it too sometimes..I will take G to Tim Hortons and buy him chocolate timbits just so he knows mommy isn’t a total beeotch all the time! I am always the one who nags him to eat healthy…sometimes I just want to be “fun mommy”!

Leave a Reply

